'Collective Interventions' Fine Arts Center Gallery Exhibition

Monday, September 20, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm

+ 9 dates

  • Tuesday, September 21, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 22, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Thursday, September 23, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Friday, September 24, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Monday, September 27, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Tuesday, September 28, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Wednesday, September 29, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Thursday, September 30, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
  • Friday, October 1, 2021 9:00am to 4:00pm
(FNAR) Fine Arts Center Gallery, Gallery, first floor of the Fine Arts Center Building
Add to calendar

Collective Interventions: On Past, Present and Future Topographics is an exhibition highlighting underrepresented narratives using works across multiple mediums. The exhibition is a collaborative curatorial project devised by School of Art students meant to develop forms of pedagogical activism.

 

The artists come from many backgrounds and the curators see this collection of perspectives as giving vital voices autonomy over the historical, present, and future depiction of landscape. The exhibtion is shaped by the convergence of intersectional perspectives on landscape -social, physical, and historical.

 

As audiences move through the gallery, the collective work introduces the themes of ownership, accessibility, and adaptability in concerns to these various perspectives of landscape. Collective Interventions represents these Aforementioned themes in concept, form, and color so that the viewer and color may break down boundaries and preconceived notions of landscape to arrive at new understandings.

 

Curators:

Charles Krampah

Kalyn Barnoski

Miki Skak

Sky Maggiore

Tay Butler

Zora J Murff

 

Artists:

Ariel Rene Jackson

Cristina Velasquez

Crystal Z. Campbell

Dionne Lee

Haley Greenfeather

Leah Schretenthaler

Mosie Romney

Nick Drain

Simphiwe Ndzube

 

All are invited to the opening reception Friday, September 17 from 5 to 7:30 p.m.

Event Details

University of Arkansas Powered by the Localist Community Event Platform © All rights reserved